PUSH BACKS AND CONFUSION

Push backs were an old rule in Warhammer that was dropped with the coming of fourth edition, when the core rules were sigificantly altered from the overly complicated third edition rules to become more or less the rules set we play by today. Push backs were later introduced into the Warmaster rules set, along with rules for confusion and it is these rules that you will find below, more or less directly converted to Warhammer format.

Push back

When a unit wins a round of combat and not all of it's enemies flee it can elect to push them back. To do this it must not have any enemies in it's flank or rear; it is only possible to push back units by moving forward. When a unit has more than one unit in its front all enemy units are pushed back. You cannot push back your own units, so if there are friendly units directly in front of a unit it cannot push back the enemy. Where several units from one side wants to push back an enemy unit only the only with the highest Unit Strength can do so, unless they are both fighting in the same side of the enemy unit, in which case both may work together to push the enemy back. In case of ties the owning player may decide which unit gets to push back the enemy. Push back occurs at the end of the Close Combat phase, between points 6 (Pursue) and 7 (Redress Ranks).

A Frenzied unit must always push back enemy units, if able to.

When a unit is pushed back it is moved directly away from the pushing unit a number of inches equal to the score the unit lost the combat by. So if a unit lost a combat by 2 points it is pushed back 2 inches. The unit that does the pushing follows up the same distance. The maximum distance a unit can be pushed back is equal to the charge distance of the pushing unit with the lowest Movement or the normal march distance of the unit being pushed back (whichever is lowest). A unit that would normally be pushed back further than it's march move is halted when it has reached it's march distance and is automatically Confused (see below).

When the unit(s) pushed back have a Unit Strength more than twice that of the unit(s) pushing the push back distance is halved.

A unit pushed so that one or more of its models leave the table is considered to have fled the table. If a unit is pushed back into another unit from either side the unit pushed back into has two options. It can make way or it can stand its ground. If the unit being pushed back into is in combat it must stand its ground, it cannot make way. If the unit being pushed back into is fleeing it must make way, it cannot stand its ground. 

If a unit decides to make way it is moved aside or back the minimum distance needed to let the pushed back unit complete its move. The unit must then take a Psychology test and if failed the unit is Confused. If the unit stands its ground it is not moved and the unit being pushed back is halted and is automatically Confused. If a unit has enemy units pushed into it and decides to stand its ground it automatically becomes engaged in the combat, but does not count as charging.

If a unit forces friendly units to make way, if it is pushed back further than its normal Move distance or if it is pushed back into difficult or very difficult terrain it must take a Psychology test and if failed the unit is Confused. If a unit pushed back encounters terrain it cannot cross it must make a halt and automatically becomes Confused.

If the unit doing the push back encounters another unit it must halt immediately and the push back is ended. If this is an enemy unit it automatically becomes engaged in the combat, but does not count as charging. 

Disruption due to shooting or magic

If a unit suffers enough casualties to remove one full rank in the Magic or Shooting phase it must take a Confusion test (see below) at the end of the phase, assuming that it has not already failed a Panic test that phase. Note that when a unit has an incomplete rank it only has to take a Confusion test if a full rank or more has been removed. So if a unit has three full ranks of five models and an incomplete rear rank of two models it only has to take a Confusion test if five or more models have been killed.

If two or more full ranks have been removed then the Confusion test is at -1 Leadership for each full rank above one which has been removed. In the example above the test would be unmodified if five to nine models were removed, at -1 Leadership if ten to fourteen models were removed and at -2 Leadership if fifteen or more models were removed.

Note that a unit may have to take both a Panic test and a Confusion test in the same turn and it is possible to take a Panic test without having to take a Confusion test and vice-versa., as the two work independent of each other.

 

Confusion

Confusion represents a general disruption in the ranks of a unit and quite understandably hampers a unit's manoeuvering and fighting.

A unit becomes automatically Confused in the following circumstances:

· It is pushed back into a unit that refuses to make way. 

· It is pushed back into terrain it cannot cross. 

· It would normally be pushed back further than its normal march distance (or its normal Move distance if the unit can never march, such as chariots). A unit that would normally be pushed back further than it's march move is halted when it has reached it's march distance. 

A unit must pass a Psychology test or become Confused in the following circumstances:

· If one or more ranks were removed due to shooting or magic. 

· It is pushed back into a unit that decides to make way. 

· If it is pushed back further than its normal Move distance. A unit with a Movement of 4 must take a Confusion test if pushed back more than 4 inches. 

· It is pushed back into difficult or very difficult terrain. 

· It decides to make way for a unit that is pushed back. 

Confusion tests in the Magic or Shooting phase happens at the end of the respective phases, after Panic tests. Confusion test due to push backs are taken at the end of the Close Combat phase, between steps 6 (Pursue) and 7 (Redress Ranks) and after Push backs. 

A unit only has to make one Confusion test per phase. A unit that is Immune to Psychology does not have to take Confusion tests, though it can still be Confused if it happens automatically. A unit that is Confused continues to be Confused until step 2 (Results) of next turns Combat phase.

A Confused unit that is not in combat in it's next Movement phase can only Reform, unless it is subject to compulsory movement. This applies to Frenzied units, who are otherwise forced to charge if able to, as well.

A Confused unit that is in combat will always strike last, even if they have an item or ability that would otherwise let them strike first, such as the Sword of Sigismund.

It should now be obvious that having one unit attacking an enemy in the front and another in the rear is a very favourable situation, because if the enemy is defeated but does not run you can push them back into your own unit which refuses to make way, thereby confusing the enemy unit and making them strike last in the next turn.

 

Further ideas for Confusion...

When a unit is victorious in combat but has to take a Panic test due to friendly units breaking from other combats within 6" (step 4 in the Combat phase) it takes a Confusion test, not a Panic test. Units that lost their combat but passed their Break tests take Panic tests as normal. This Confusion test is taken at the same time as the Panic tests and not at the end of the phase, as with other Confusion tests. A unit still only has to take one Confusion test per phase.

